facebook 32 20x20 twitter 32 20x20 linkedin 32 20x20 join-btn



April 29, 2016    

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                            


Topeka Bar Association


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 


TOPEKA, KS – The Topeka Bar Association (TBA) honored Hon. Karen Arnold-Burger with the Warren W. Shaw Distinguished Service Award, Hon. Evelyn Wilson with the Honorable E. Newton Vickers Professionalism Award, Sarah Morse with the Outstanding Young Lawyer Award, and Patrick Salsbury with the Liberty Bell Award at the TBA’s 2016 Annual Meeting at the Sixth Avenue Ballroom on Thursday, April 21, 2016.

“The TBA is proud to have many exceptional members who are actively contributing and making a real difference in northeast Kansas,” Laura Graham, TBA president said. “It was a pleasure at our annual meeting to recognize several of these lawyers and judges for their outstanding contributions to the profession and the community.”

The Warren W. Shaw Distinguished Service Award is to recognize a lawyer or judge for exemplary service to the legal profession or the Topeka Bar Association. This year’s recipient, Hon. Karen Arnold-Burger is a judge with the Kansas Court of Appeals. Judge Arnold-Burger graduated from the University of Kansas School of Law in 1981. Upon graduating and passing the bar, Judge Arnold-Burger became an employment analyst for Shell Oil Company. In 1982, she became First Assistant City Attorney for the City of Overland Park, Kansas. From 1989 to 1991, she served as an Assistant United States Attorney. In 1991, she became Municipal Judge in Overland Park. In 1996, she was elevated to Presiding Judge. She was appointed to the Kansas Court of Appeals on January 6, 2011. In addition, she has served on the faculty of the Institute for Faculty Excellence in Judicial Education; the National Judicial College; and the American Bar Association’s Judicial Division. She served as President of the Johnson County Bar Association, the Kansas Municipal Judges Association, and the Earl E. O’Connor Inn of Court. She has served on the Executive Board of the NCSCJ, a section of the Judicial Division of the American Bar Association and the Board of Governors of the University of Kansas School of Law. In 2015, she was awarded the Burnham “Hod” Greeley Award by the American Bar Association. The award was given in recognition of her significant and positive impact on public understanding of the role of the judiciary in a democratic society and its importance to the Rule of Law.

The Honorable E. Newton Vickers Professionalism Award recognizes a member of the Topeka Bar Association who, by his or her conduct, honesty, integrity and courtesy, best exemplify, represent and encourage other lawyers to follow the highest standards of the legal profession, including those contained in the Topeka Bar Association’s Creed of Professional Courtesy. This year’s recipient, Hon. Evelyn Wilson is the Chief Judge for the Third Judicial District in Shawnee County. Prior to her appointment to the bench in 2004, Judge Wilson spent 19 years in private practice, including as a partner in Wright, Henson, Clark and Baker (formerly Davis, Wright, Unrein, Hummer and McCallister). Judge Wilson graduated from Bethany College in 1982 and from Washburn Law in 1985. Judge Wilson serves as a member of the Board of Directors of Bethany College and also is an active member of numerous law-related organizations including the American Judges Association, and the American, Kansas and Topeka Bar Associations. She served as the TBA President from 2004-05.

The Outstanding Young Lawyer Award recognizes the outstanding efforts of a Young Lawyer member of the Topeka Bar Association who has rendered meritorious service to the legal profession, the community, or the Topeka Bar Association. This year’s recipient, Sarah Morse is an associate with Goodell, Stratton, Edmonds & Palmer, LLP. She graduated from Emory University School of Law in May 2011. She was admitted to the Georgia Bar in 2011 and the Kansas Bar in 2012. Sarah currently serves as the TBA’s Young Lawyers Division President and Publications Chair, KBA’s Young Lawyers Section Publications Co-Editor; Secretary on the Women Attorneys Association of Topeka board; Publicity Chair for the Kansas Women Attorneys Association; Young Lawyers Committee Member for the Kansas Association of Defense Counsel (KADC); and received the KADC’s Horizon Award in 2014.

The Liberty Bell Award is to recognize an individual who has rendered outstanding service to his/her community. While all fields of endeavor are intended for inclusion, the award's purpose is to accord public recognition to men and women for outstanding service in one of the following areas: Promoting a better understanding of our Constitution and the Bill of Rights; Encouraging greater respect for law and the courts; Stimulating a deeper sense of individual responsibility so that citizens recognize their duties as well as their rights; Contributing to the effective functioning of our institutions of governments; or Fostering a better understanding and appreciation of the rule of law. This year’s recipient, Pat Salsbury is an attorney with Goodell, Stratton, Edmonds & Palmer, LLP. Salsbury was honored for his outstanding service to his clients, his law firm, and the citizens of Kansas. He served as Secretary, Treasurer and President of the TBA. He was honored with the Kansas Bar Association outstanding service award after serving as the KBA convention chair. He is a member of the Kansas Association of Defense Council and the Defense Research Institute. In addition to his long standing service to the Topeka Bar Association and the citizens of Topeka, he has demonstrated his commitment to our country through his military service and long legal career.

The TBA also inducted its incoming Board of Directors at the annual meeting: president – Laura Graham (Kansas Bureau of Investigation); president-elect – Glenda Cafer (Cafer Pemberton LLC); secretary – Vincent Cox (Cavanaugh, Biggs & Lemon, P.A.); treasurer – Diane Bellquist (Joseph, Hollander & Craft LLC) and directors – Bob Alderson (Alderson, Alderson, Weiler, Conklin, Burghart & Crow, LLC), Jim McEntire (Sloan, Eisenbarth, Glassman, McEntire & Jarboe, LLC), Tony Mattivi (U.S. Department of Justice), Kyle Mead (Lawyers Title of Topeka, Inc.), Sarah Morse (Goodell, Stratton, Edmonds & Palmer, LLP) and Amanda Vogelsberg (Henson, Hutton, Mudrick & Gragson, LLP).

2016 YLD Scholarship 

The TBA’s Young Lawyers Division is accepting applications for its annual YLD Scholarship. To be considered for the TBA Young Lawyers Division Scholarship, an applicant must:

  • Be a law student at an accredited school of law within the State of Kansas graduating within the current academic year (2015-2016).
  • Anticipate applying to sit for the Kansas Bar Examination.
  • Demonstrate a desire to practice law in Topeka, Kansas.
  • Display excellence in academic merit, community service, and moral character.
  • Be a student member of the Topeka Bar Association (No membership fees! Click here for a membership application).
  • Complete and timely submit the application.

Shopping Cart

Cart empty